MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT

(University Grants Commission)

NOTIFICATION

New Delhi, the 2nd May, 2016

University Grants Commission (Prevention, prohibition and redressal of sexual harassment of women employees and students in higher educational institutions) Regulations, 2015

4. Grievance redressal mechanism.—(1) Every Executive Authority shall constitute an Internal

Complaints Committee (ICC) with an inbuilt mechanism for gender sensitization against sexual harassment.

The ICC shall have the following composition:-

- (a) A Presiding Officer who shall be a woman faculty member employed at a senior level (not below
- a Professor in case of a university, and not below an Associate Professor or Reader in case of a college) at the educational institution, nominated by the Executive Authority;

Provided that in case a senior level woman employee is not available, the Presiding Officer shall be nominated from other offices or administrative units of the workplace referred to in sub-section 2(o);

Provided further that in case the other offices or administrative units of the workplace do not have a senior level woman employee, the Presiding Officer shall be nominated from any other workplace of the same employer or other department or organization;"

- (b) two faculty members and two non-teaching employees, preferably committed to the cause of women or who have had experience in social work or have legal knowledge, nominated by the Executive Authority;
- (c) Three students, if the matter involves students, who shall be enrolled at the undergraduate, master's, and research scholar levels respectively, elected through transparent democratic procedure;
- (d) one member from amongst non-government organisations or associations committed to the cause of women or a person familiar with the issues relating to sexual harassment, nominated by the Executive Authority.
- (2) At least one-half of the total members of the ICC shall be women.
- (3) Persons in senior administrative positions in the HEI, such as Vice- Chancellor, Pro Vice-Chancellors, Rectors, Registrar, Deans, Heads of Departments, etc., shall not be members of ICCs in order to ensure autonomy of their functioning.

- (4) The term of office of the members of the ICC shall be for a period of three years. HEIs may also employ a system whereby one –third of the members of the ICC may change every year.
- (5) The Member appointed form amongst the non-governmental organizations or associations shall be paid such fees or allowances for holding the proceedings of the Internal Committee, by the Executive Authority as may be prescribed.
- (6) Where the Presiding Officer or any member of the Internal Committee:
- (a) contravenes the provisions of section 16 of the Act; or
- (b) has been convicted for an offence or an inquiry into an offence under any law for the time being in force is pending against him; or
- (c) he has been found guilty in any disciplinary proceedings or a disciplinary proceeding is pending against him; or
- (d) has so abused his position as to render his continuance in office prejudicial to the public interest, such Presiding Officer or Member, as the case may be, shall be removed from the Committee and the vacancy so created or any casual vacancy shall be filled by fresh nomination in accordance with the provisions of this section."

Section 2

(o) "workplace" means the campus of a HEI including- (a) Any department, organisation, undertaking, establishment, enterprise, institution, office, branch or unit which is established, owned, controlled or wholly or substantially financed by funds provided directly or indirectly by the appropriate HEIs; (b) Any sports institute, stadium, sports complex or competition or games venue, whether residential or not used for training, sports or other activities relating thereof in HEIs; (c) Any place visited by the employee or student arising out of or during the course of employment or study including transportation provided by the Executive Authority for undertaking such journey for study in HEIs.'